Each week we bring you a good news story from across the South West as part of our wedNEWSday articles. Make sure you check out our website each week to keep up to date and if you have a great story let us know using the details below!

Can you believe the Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 is over already?

It was a thrilling event taking place over 10 days in Liverpool which saw over 11,000 spectators to the M&S Bank Arena and saw England secure a bronze medal. The tournament saw exhilarating action, incredible intercepts, and goals galore! It has inspired a nation to see how exciting netball can be and English netball fans have witnessed tears, laughter and celebration throughout.

Lots of our South West netballers travelled hundreds of miles too see the Rose’s & the atmosphere netball had created on Liverpool! This included, Issy Birks, being the ball  girl for the England v Samoa game, the South West team working at the fan park, many clubs attending and even the Regional Management Board committee members cheering on.

After the Gold Medal win at the Commonwealth Games last year the Vitality Roses inspired more than 130,700 people to start playing netball or more netball and since the final day of this year’s tournament there has been a 1000 per cent increase in visits to the England Netball session finder.

Over this week there will be 500 netball sessions taking place around the country. Here in the South West we have lots of sessions taking place in the Biggest Summer of Netball so make sure that you find your nearer session and either get back on court or do more netball.

https://www.englandnetball.co.uk/netball-sessions/

Alternatively please contact your local netball development officer for your nearest session:

Amy Ruffell-Hazell – Gloucestershire Netball Development Officer

📧 Amy.ruffell-hazell@englandnetball.co.uk

Kerry Brooks – Avon & Wiltshire Netball Development Officer

📧 Kerry.Brooks@englandnetball.co.uk

Karen Peaty-Dorset Netball Development Officer

📧 Karen.peaty@englandnetball.co.uk

Sammy Kemmish – Somerset Netball Development Officer

📧 Samantha.kemmish@englandnetball.co.uk

Jenny Kelly – Devon Netball Development Officer

📧 Jennifer.kelly@englandnetball.co.uk

Fern Noott – Cornwall Netball Development Officer

📧 Fern.noott@englandnetball.co.uk

If you would like to be featured as our wedNEWSday story then please send your good news story, plus a photo, to Laura Woodruff (laura.woodruff@englandnetball.co.uk)